We recommend you group your tasks into folders for easier management. Note that there is no limit for the level of sub-folders you can create.

BPA Platform Client - Folder Structure

Click the image to view full size.

Use the Folders toolbar to manage your task folders:

(New Folder) — Create a new folder in the highlighted node of the Tasks tree

(Move To Folder) — Moves the highlighted task to a new location

(Copy To Folder) — Copies the highlighted task to a new location

Creating Task Folders

To create task folders, do the following:

  1. If you have an existing task folder structure, navigate to the parent folder first. If creating new folders from scratch, highlight Workspace.
  2. Click New Folder.
  3. Provide a meaningful folder name then click OK.

Deleting Task Folders

Deleted task folders are permanently deleted, not sent to the recycle bin. However, the tasks residing in the folders are sent to the recycle bin. When these are restored, you must create then select the new folder to restore to.

To delete task folders, do the following:

  1. Highlight the relevant folder.
  2. Hit the DEL key.
  3. Confirm the folder deletion.

Moving Tasks or Other Folders into Folders

At the time of writing, you can only move a single task at a time to a folder:

  1. Highlight the relevant task.
  2. Click Move to Folder or Copy to Folder depending on whether the original task location needs to be retained.
  3. Select the new folder and click Save.

Setting Permissions for Task Folders

Note: You can only set folder permissions in the Classic client.

To set access permissions on task folders, do the following:

  1. Log into the Classic client.
  2. Right-click on the relevant task folder and select Properties.
  3. Go to the Permissions tab.
  4. From the Group or user names pane, select the relevant user or users who can access this folder.
  5. By default, users have full access rights.

    From the Permissions for <group_or_username> pane, clear the selection as required:

Full Control — Users can create sub-folders and tasks, and remove the same from this folder
Visible — The folder and its contents are displayed to the user when clicked
Create Folder — Users can create new sub-folders in this folder
Create — User can create tasks in this folder
Read — Users can only read tasks in this folder
Execute — Users can manually run (all) tasks in this folder (right-click the task and select Queue Now)
Edit Own — Users can only edit those tasks and sub-folders they have created in this folder
Edit All — Users can edit any task or sub-folder created in this folder
Delete Own — Users can only delete tasks and sub-folder they have created in this folder
Delete All — Users can delete any task or sub-folder created in this folder
  1. If this folder has child folders and the same user permission applies to those, enable Propagate permissions to child folders.
  2. Click OK.