During initial installation, only the Administrator account is created (which cannot be removed). This account has full access to all BPA Platform features.From then on, any account with System Administrator or Security Administrator enabled can create, edit, or delete BPA Platform user accounts.

Types of User Account Authentication

BPA Platform supports two types of user authentication:

Internal — Internal accounts are created in and for BPA Platform only.
Windows — Windows accounts are initially created in your Microsoft® Active Directory® database. To allow your users to use their Windows credentials to access BPA Platform, you must add those credentials to BPA Platform as well.

Adding a New User

To add a new BPA Platform user account, do the following:

  1. From the Administration toolbar, click New User button.

    New User Properties - General Tab

  2. If adding an internal user, enable BPA Authentication.
    1. Enter a Username and Password for this user, then re-enter the password in Confirm Password.
  3. If adding a Windows user, enable Windows Authentication. Windows administrator-level credentials are needed as BPA Platform queries Active Directory to complete this stage.
    1. Click Browse.
    2. If Select this object type does not say Users, click Object Types and select Users — you may be prompted for administrator-level credentials here.
    3. Click Locations. Expand the Active Directory tree and select Users — you may be prompted for administrator-level credentials here.
    4. In Enter the object name to select, enter a username and click Check Names. If a valid username is found, the full object name, including domain, is shown.
    5. Click OK.
  4. (Optional) An Email address is only required if this users is to receive server notifications and alerts.
  5. Go to the Server Roles tab and enable the applicable roles for this user. Use Select All to assign all roles to this user.
  6. If this user is a Task or Tool Administrator, go to the Tool Access tab. By default, all tools are available to all Task and Tool Administrators; clear the selection for those tools this user does not have access to. If only allowing access to a few, click Clear All then select the required tools.
    1. (Optional) If allowing access to the Database Query (ODBC)ClosedYou typically use the Database Query (ODBC) tool to extract specific records from a relational database, using a valid ODBC driver to make the connection. These are then made available to other task steps as a recordset., Database Query (OLEDB)ClosedYou typically use the Database Query (OLEDB) tool to extract specific records from a relational database, using a valid ODBC driver to make the connection. These are then made available to other task steps as a recordset., or Call Stored Procedure (OLEDB)ClosedThe Call Stored Procedure (OLEDB) tool executes database stored procedures and functions to provide read, write, and automated data processing. tools, you can also restrict access to particular database connections if required. Click Advanced and select those database connections this user is only allowed to see and use.
  7. If this user is a Task or Tool Administrator, go to the Memory Access tab. By default, all memory providers are available to all Task and Tool Administrators; clear the selection for those providers this user does not have access to. If only allowing access to a few, click Clear All then select the required memory providers.
  8. If this user requires access to COM objects to create VBScripts with, go to the Script Objects tab and select the relevant objects.
  9. Click OK.

Editing a User Account

To open an existing account for editing, including changing the account's password, do the following:

  1. Expand the System resources tree and select Users.
  2. Double-click the required account.
  3. Adjust the properties as required.

Deleting a User Account

If required, you can temporarily disable a BPA Platform user account (edit the account and enable Disable Account in the General tab). However from time-to-time, you may need to delete the account entirely; do the following:

  1. Expand the System resources tree and select Users.
  2. Right-click on the required account and select Delete.
  3. Confirm the deletion.